06-07 10 year Celebration


10th anniversary of the 2006/07 NTFL season

The 2016/17 NTFL season marks the 10th anniversary of the 2006/07 NTFL season SDFC Premier League and Under 16s Premierships. It is also the only season the SDFC has played in the Reserve Grade Grand Final but lost to Waratah.


The 2006/07 season was Michael McLean's first year as Premier League Coach. Shannon Rusca won the Premier League Nichols Medal, NT News Player of the Year and Coca Cola/ABC Player of the Year, Ashley Wedding won the Premier League leading goal kicker Dennis Dunn Trophy kicking 117 goals for the season, Kyle Archibald won the Chaney Meadal for Best on Ground in the Premier League Grand Final. Shannon played in the clubs first League Premiership in the 1997/98 season as the youngest player in the team and Captained the second in 2006/07. Two other players from the clubs first Premier League's Premiership in the 1997/98 season (Bill Feeney jnr and Gerard Atkins) returned to the Crocs to play in the clubs 2nd Premiership. Keegan Dingo, Ben Ah Mat and Matt Cannard who all played in this season are now SDFC Player Life members. Ben and Matt are now also NTFL Life members. Shane Shewring also a SDFC & NTFL Player Life Member and 97/98 Premiership player played most of the season in the Premier League but mised out the Premiership playing in the Reserve Grade Grand Final.

The Under 16s had a outstanding season going through the season undefeated in the home and away games and the finals. Two of the Under 16s players from that season (Steven May and Troy Taylor) would go on to be Drafted to the AFL, Steven May won the leading goal kicker for the Under 16s competition with 46 goals, Troy Taylor won the Russell Jeffrey Medal for BOG in the Under 16s Grand Final and Rhys Mason won the Hickman Medal for U/16s competition Best and Fairest for the season tieing with two other players from other clubs.

Brothers Shane, Andrew and Luke Hodges all played in the Reserves Grand Final which they unfortunatley lost but did the club proud. Shannon Rusca, Captain of the League Grand Final winning team had his brother Robbie (Robert who was a club champion in the League teams of the 80 and 90s) playing in the Reserves Grand Final. And Tom O'Shaughnessy who played played in the League Grand Final had his younger brother Jack playing in the under 16s Grand Final winning team.

Other club Honours can be read veiwed by clicking on the HISTORY tab.

If anyone has any photos or clips or stories from that season it would be great to share.

League team Reserves team Under 16s team
Coach - Michael McLean Coach - Greg Smith Coach - Dean Skipper
1. Jason Rahilly 36. Luke Hodges 1. Jaxon De Santis
2. Kyle Archibald 37. C Miler 2. Marcus Gurruwiwi
3. Kingsley Whitehurst 39. Shane Hodges 3. Mathew McLinden (co Capt)
4. Ben Ah Mat 40. Peter Douglas 4. Troy Taylor
5. Mark McLean 41. Rueben Hewitt 5. Rhys Mason (co Capt)
6. Matt Cannard 43. 6. Dean Staunton
18. & 7. Shannon Rusca (Capt) 44. Patrick Ryan 8. Peter Fry
8. Braedon Talbot 46. Martin White 9. Rohan Streeter
9. Patrick Fittock 50. Ben Evans 10. Lindsay Lawler
11. Mark Rattley 51. 12. Curtley Reid
12. Shaun Mullane 53. Andrew Hodges 14. Jack O’Shaughnessy
13. Keegan Dingo 54. Dean Skipper 15. Liam Wolter
14. Tom O'Shaughnessy 56. Clint Rogan 16. Barak Sambano
16. Chris Kickett 57. Aaron Barnes 17. Denham Hussie
17. Darryl White 58. John Brewster 18. Steven May
19. Tom Fittock 59. Ben McCasker 19. Alwyn Anzac
20. Quinton Bolton 61. Matthew Harp 20. Lange Clarke
22. Bill Feeney Jnr 63. Shaun Wells 21. Ben Allenshaw
23. Ashley Wedding 64. Luke Clarke 22. Lucas Hill
24. Gerard Atkins 65. Greg Hayward (Capt) 23. James Beckett
25. Troy Parker 66. Shane Shewring 24. David Deveraux
26. Luke O’Toole 68. Robert Rusca 25. Brody Smith
    26. Dwayne Abott
    28. Lachie Miller